top of page

Wed, Jan 17

|

Online via Zoom

[NAAEE Webinar] ANCA CONNECTS: Equitable Compensation and Hiring Practices in EE

Webinar from EENC partner organization NAAEE hosted by the Association of Nature Center Administrators discussing discuss equitable compensation and hiring practices based on eeGuidance for Equitable Pay and Hiring, a document from the Southeastern Environmental Education Alliance.

Registration for this event has closed. Check out our other offerings:
Upcoming Events and Courses
[NAAEE Webinar] ANCA CONNECTS: Equitable Compensation and Hiring Practices in EE
[NAAEE Webinar] ANCA CONNECTS: Equitable Compensation and Hiring Practices in EE

Time & Location

Jan 17, 2024, 2:00 PM – 3:30 PM

Online via Zoom

About This Event

This webinar is hosted by NAAEE; register via their website

Wednesday, January 17 10–11:30am AKT  /  11am–12:30pm PT  /  12–1:30pm MT  /  1–2:30pm CT  /  2–3:30pm ET

Achieving your organization’s mission depends on the effective work of your staff — but what if you’re not able to hire and retain skilled employees?

Equitable pay and benefits are vital to attract and keep talent within your organization. This is especially important when considering that there are major costs associated with replacing employees: it’s estimated that replacing a salaried employee can cost up to twice that employee’s annual salary.

In this ANCA CONNECTS program we’ll discuss equitable compensation and hiring practices based on eeGuidance for Equitable Pay and Hiring in Environmental Education, a document from the Southeastern Environmental Education Alliance. The eeGuidanceexplores equitable compensation, position design, recruitment, and hiring practices based on data within the environmental education field, and contains recommendations to advance equitable practices within our organizations. In the program we’ll specifically reference the Maine Environmental Education Association’s recent work on equitable compensation as a case study.

This CONNECTS will be interactive with time for participants to connect in small groups to discuss their own reflections on this complex issue, as well as to share challenges and solutions. Reading the eeGuidance beforehand is recommended, but not required.

This program is part of the ANCA CONNECTS: Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) Discussion Group, which allows professionals in our field to share experience and insights with each other, exchange relevant resources, and make plans for action. Anyone who wants to advance DEI efforts within their organization is welcome. If you’re just curious about this work, starting out recently, or you have years of experience, we invite you to join us for learning and sharing together. You can expect:

  • An insightful conversation and sharing of professional experiences
  • Exchanging resources and educational materials
  • A supportive community that encourages taking action to promote DEI

Facilitator: Olivia Griset, Executive Director, Maine Environmental Education Association; Advisor on the SEEA eeGuidance for Equitable Pay and Hiring document

Share this event

bottom of page