top of page

Welcoming EENC’s 2024 Board of Directors

The EENC Staff team and Board President Kyra Thurow Bartow are pleased to announce the EENC 2024 Board of Directors, a dedicated team of educators, science communicators, community engagement experts, and leaders who are volunteering their time to guide EENC's operations this year. 

2024 marks an exciting change in Board structure driven by our organizational commitment to equitable, shared leadership: for the first time, EENC will define our Board as a Governing, rather than Working, Board of Directors. This shift to a Governing structure includes the introduction of At-Large Board positions in place of some named Chair roles, increased Staff facilitation and participation in Board efforts, and the expansion of committee-based project management. We are excited to make this transition to a fresh, values-based Board structure, designed to maximize all of our Board Members’ unique knowledge, skills, and expertise and amplify our collective impact. 

Below, get to know all sixteen 2024 Board Members – including seven incoming Members! – and join us in thanking six outgoing Board Members, who completed their terms with the 2023 year, for their commitment and service.


Incoming Board Members

The following Board Members are beginning their terms in 2024 – welcome! 

Erin Carroll – Member-At-Large

Outdoor Learning Specialist,

Durham Public Schools

Hillary Harrison – Member-At-Large

Director of Education and Outreach,

Eno River Association

LaKyla Hodges – Member-At-Large

Equity and Education Manager,

Southern Appalachian Highlands Conservancy 

Alexandria (Ali) Huber-Disla – Member-At-Large

Online Course Instructor,

T. Colin Campbell Center for Nutrition Studies

Cynthia Peedin – Piedmont Section Chair

Education Manager,

Muddy Sneakers

Noah Upchurch – Member-At-Large

Sustainability Coordinator,

Catawba College Center for the Environment

Nicole Warren – Member-At-Large

Outreach Coordinator,

North Carolina Aquarium at Pine Knoll Shores


Returning Board Members

Sammy Bauer – Member-At-Large

Community Engagement Coordinator,

Town of Chapel Hill Stormwater Division

Krista Brinchek – Central Section Chair

Environmental Science Specialist,

Wake County Public Schools

Will Freund – President-Elect

Community Engagement Specialist,

Morehead Planetarium and Science Center

Emily Hurd – Secretary

Sustainability Director,

Christmount Assembly 

Amy Juliana – Past-President 

Manager of Science and Technology,

Society of American Foresters 

Jessica (Jess) Stitt – Eastern Section Chair

Program Coordinator,

New Hanover County Soil and Water Conservation District 

Kyra Thurow Bartow – President


Agape Center for Environmental Education

Breanna Walker – Treasurer 

Education Specialist,

Union County Soil and Water Conservation District 

Brian Wuertz – Western Section Chair

Education Specialist,

Friends of the WNC Nature Center


Outgoing Board Members

The following Board Members completed their terms in 2023. We thank them for their service!

Lindsey Baker – 2023 Membership Chair 

Park Ranger,

Raven Rock State Park

What did you enjoy about your service? From Lindsey: "I enjoyed the camaraderie. I tend to get anxious around new people/places/regions; but I had so much fun at the board retreat. I enjoyed the conversations, the working groups, and the opportunity to sit down and strategically talk about things with like-minded people. The space and people were very welcoming."

Tatiana (Tots) Height – 2023 Education Chair

Director of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion,

American Forest Foundation

How would you describe our organizational culture? From Tots: "Kind, flexible, organized, communicative, and open-minded."

Lauren Lampley – 2023 Treasurer 

Adult Programming Educator,

North Carolina Arboretum

From Lauren: “I am grateful for the time and friendships I have formed while on the Board, so I can’t wait to see where the organization goes in the future.”

Dana Miller – 2023 Western Section Chair

STEM Teacher,

Haywood County Schools

What efforts are you most proud of? From Dana: “I am proud of the changes we were able to make- growing staff, advocacy work, shared leadership model, equitable hiring and pay, ELP changes, Standards revisions… the list goes on!”

Cassandra (Cassie) Payne – 2023 Conference Chair

Lead Instructor,

Fauna Forest Earth School

From Cassie: “I really enjoyed becoming a larger part of the EENC community. The EENC community is so strong and passionate, and I felt honored to be a part of it.  Connecting with community members that I would otherwise not have connected with was a really powerful experience. I also enjoyed all of the Board Members, and their drive to create E.E. programs throughout North Carolina.”

Elise Tellez – 2023 Past-President

Director of Horizons Unlimited and Science Curriculum,

Rowan-Salisbury Schools

From Elise: "To all our members, partners, volunteers, and supporters, we extend our heartfelt gratitude for your unwavering dedication and belief in the power of environmental education. Together, we are transforming lives and shaping a brighter future."



bottom of page